Documents of Acquisition

Frequently Asked Questions

What legal form does DigitalService4Germany have?
The DigitalService4Germany is a limited liability company owned by the federal government.
Why was the GmbH chosen as legal form?
The question of which legal form is most suitable for an organization such as the Digital Service was examined on the basis of legal, technical and economic criteria and took various legal forms into consideration. The criteria agility, effectiveness of personnel recruitment nd speed of formation were defined as exclusion criteria in the event of non-compliance. Over all, the following: Competence development, control possibility, departmental neutrality, flexibility, visibility, establishment of expenditure, scalability and processing capability. The audit came to the conclusion that the GmbH is the only legal form that fulfills all the criteria or fulfills them to a comparatively high degree.
Who are the shareholders of DigitalService4Germany?
The Federal Republic of Germany - represented by the Federal Chancellery - holds 100% of the shares of the GmbH. - q: Für wie viel Geld wurde die 4Germany UG an das Bundeskanzleramt verkauft?
For how much money was 4Germany UG sold to the Federal Chancellery?
For 30.000 €.
What is the goal of the DigitalService4Germany GmbH?
The Digital Service develops digital solutions with and for the federal ministries and subordinate authorities. The citizens' needs are at the core of the Digital Service’s work. At the same time, by closely working with civil servants capacity building and knowledge transfer within the administration is achieved. Thus, the company does not "only" develop products for the state, but works together with the administration on the product.
Why do we need a unit like Digital Service in federal ownership?
As an in-house company of the federal government, Digital Service can develop prototypes through to finished applications at short notice and basically without inviting tenders before commissioning. It is not intended to act like a public authority - and thus basically competes with other companies on the market for contracts and personnel. The fact that the federal government thus has a flexible and quickly deployable instrument at its disposal to meet digital needs in a tailored manner strengthens the state's digital capacity to act.
Why was 4Germany UG sold to the Federal Chancellery?
4Germany UG with its two fellowship programs Tech4Germany and Work4Germany has been under the patronage of Prof. Dr. Helge Braun, the head of the Federal Chancellery, since 2018. The two fellowship programs have quickly gained a strong reputation as a driver for agile, user-centric software solutions and innovative work. 4Germany UG has collected a unique set of experience, knowledge and network for the work with the federal administration.
If the goal is so important, why was the organisation establised as a privately organized service provider? Isn’t it about enhancing the state’s ability to act?
By taking over and insourcing competencies, we are strengthening the portfolio and the state's ability to act. As an in-house unit, the Digital Service can quickly and easily develop digital, user-centric solutions with and for the state. The Digital Service employees will work exclusively for and within the administration. In addition, the Digital Service's mission is to contribute to the development of competencies within the federal administration by working together with the administrative staff. The necessary agility and flexibility, especially with regard to recruitment, would not have been achieved in the same way with an administrative structure.
Why did the Chancellor's Office consider it necessary for Digital Service to be able to act flexibly in its recruitment policy?
Flexibility in personnel planning is crucial for the Digital Service. It's not just a matter of being able to pay better salaries for certain people who are hard to find on the market. This is the minor advantage. It is much more important to minimize bureaucratic effort and process times so that the unit can really be the agile "speedboat" it is supposed to be and not become a "tanker". For this unit, it is crucial to attract and build up people who, regardless of formal qualifications, have IT and digital skills that are in high demand in Berlin and abroad. If it is possible to largely dispense of comparatively rigid annual staffing plans in order to remain flexible in the scaling of the unit, this also helps to keep the administrative structure of the new unit lean. The Digital Service will work on a project or order basis. It is intended to become economically self-sustaining quickly and not be financed by the federal government in the long term. The GmbH must be able to act "cyclically" on the market and recruit staff flexibly depending on the development of the order situation. All this will now be possible for the Digital Service.
What exactly does the Digital Service Team do?
The mission of DigitalService4Germany is to develop digital services with the state that focus on the needs of citizens and work better for everyone. The Digital Service Teams consisting of designers, developers and product managers work together with project managers from the federal administration using agile development methods to develop user-centered software products.
What will be the first Digital Service projects?
The next few months will be reserved for building up the Digital Service. At the same time, one or two concrete projects have already been identified in the run-up. The Digital Service will start to accompany and implement these projects in parallel. The experience gained from these initial projects and the possible implications for cooperation with the Federal Administration as a partner and client can then be directly incorporated into the further development work. As soon as the first project has been formally commissioned with the Digital Service, information will be provided.
How can ministries apply for projects?
Ministries and federal authorities can commission Digital Service to develop software products. Unlike the Fellowships, there is no application and selection by an independent jury. Nevertheless, for capacity reasons it will not be possible to accept every project. Part of the start-up phase will be to define selection criteria and a selection process in cooperation with the Supervisory Board and the Chancellery.
Are Tech4Germany and Work4Germany now part of the DigitalService4Germany GmbH?
Yes, Tech4Germany and Work4Germany are also part of DigitalService4Germany GmbH. The two programs will remain as they are, alongside the year-round collaborative and agile development of software products described above.
As a federal company, can the DigitalService4Germany team continue to make independent decisions?
Operationally, the teams make independent decisions. The managing directors of the GmbH are obligated by the articles of association to the supervisory board and shareholders to present certain strategic decisions or to coordinate with them. More information can be found in the articles of association and the rules of procedure of the management.
Can the Digital Service reject projects?
The Digital Service will decide independently which projects it accepts. The decision will be based on transparent and comprehensible criteria. The criteria will be approved in advance by the Supervisory Board.
How is it possible for the Digital Service to apply a different compensation model than federal authorities?
For a federal limited liability company (GmbH) in public ownership, the tariff regulations of the public service (TVöD) are not directly applicable. Every purchase by the federal state must be approved by the Federal Ministry of Finance in accordance with the Federal Budget Code. This approval is subject to the condition that the prohibition of betterment (standardized for grants) applies accordingly to one part of the company, namely the programs and the cross-sectional area. However, the Digital Service product teams, to which this does not apply, must also operate economically. They also compete with private providers for project contracts and personnel. In this respect, it is necessary to be able to offer standard market conditions.
Will the DigitalService4Germany hire new people or will the project work be implemented as in the Fellows' programs?
The Digital Service will be established as a new, independent business unit within the GmbH. The necessary profiles will be advertised and recruited as full-time positions. The Digital Service plans to fill about 30 positions by the end of 2021.
Can Fellows transfer directly to the DigitalService4Germany?
No. Fellows from Work4Germany and Tech4Germany must qualify for the Digital Service through the same application processes as external applicants. We want to ensure that all interested candidates have the same access to the new unit.
How is the DigitalService4Germany financed?
The new GmbH will be provided with capital in the high single-digit million range by the German government. After four years at the latest, it should be able to sustain itself through the fees it receives for its software products from ministries. The company will work on a project- or order-based basis and will therefore be able to act in response to economic cycles. The exact amount of the federal share is still subject to budgetary negotiations.
Imprint Data Protection

Übernahmedokumente

Häufig Gestellte Fragen

Was für eine Rechtsform hat der DigitalService4Germany?
Der DigitalService4Germany ist eine GmbH im Eigentum des Bundes.
Wieso wurde die GmbH als Rechtsform gewählt?
Die Frage, welche Rechtsform für eine Organisation wie den Digital Service am geeignetsten ist, wurde anhand von rechtlichen, fachlichen und ökonomischen Kriterien verschiedener Organisationsformen geprüft. Die Kriterien Agilität, Wirksamkeit der Personalgewinnung und Gründungsgeschwindigkeit wurden bei Nichterfüllung als Ausschlusskriterium definiert. In Folge wurden insbesondere eine behördliche Ausgestaltung, eine Gründung als Anstalt öffentlichen Rechts sowie die Rechtsform der GmbH entlang folgender Kriterien geprüft: Kompetenzentwicklung, Steuerungsmöglichkeit, Ressortneutralität, Flexibilität, Sichtbarkeit, Errichtungsaufwand, Skalierungs- und Abwicklungsfähigkeit. Die Prüfung gelangte zu dem Ergebnis, dass die GmbH als einzige Rechtsform alle Kriterien erfüllt bzw. im vergleichsweise höchsten Maße erfüllt.
Wer sind die Anteilseigner der DigitalService4Germany?
Die Bundesrepublik Deutschland – vertreten durch das Bundeskanzleramt – hält 100% der Anteile der GmbH.
Für wie viel Geld wurde die 4Germany UG an das Bundeskanzleramt verkauft?
Für 30.000 €.
Was ist das Ziel der DigitalService4Germany GmbH?
Der Digital Service entwickelt mit den und für die Bundesministerien und nachgeordneten Behörden digitale Lösungen, welche die Bedürfnisse der Bürgerinnen und Bürger in den Mittelpunkt stellen. Zugleich werden Kapazitätsaufbau und Wissenstransfer in der Verwaltung erzielt. Es wird also nicht "nur" eingekauft, sondern gemeinsam mit der Verwaltung am Produkt gearbeitet.
Warum braucht es eine Einheit wie den Digital Service in Bundeseigentum?
Als Inhouse-Gesellschaft des Bundes kann der Digital Service kurzfristig und grundsätzlich ohne Ausschreibungsverfahrunge mittels Beauftragung Prototypen bis hin zu fertigen Anwendungen entwickeln. Er soll dabei nicht wie eine Behörde agieren - und konkurriert grundsätzlich mit anderen Unternehmen am Markt um Aufträge und Personal. Dass dem Bund damit ein flexibel und schnell einsetzbares Instrument zur Verfügung steht, um digitale Bedarfe maßgeschneidert decken zu können, stärkt die digitale Handlungsfähigkeit des Staates.
Warum wurde gerade die 4Germany UG an das Bundeskanzleramt verkauft?
4Germany stand mit seinen Fellowship Programmen Tech4Germany und Work4Germany bereits seit 2018 unter der Schirmherrschaft von Prof. Dr. Helge Braun, dem Chef des Bundeskanzleramts. Mit den beiden Fellowship Programmen hat sich die 4Germany UG schnell einen positiven Ruf als Ansprechpartner für agile, nutzerzentrierte Softwarelösungen und innovatives Arbeiten erarbeitet und darüber ein einzigartiges Erfahrungswissen und Netzwerk für die Arbeit mit der Bundesverwaltung erarbeitet.
Wenn die Mission so wichtig ist, wieso dann als privatwirtschaftlich organisierter Dienstleister? Es geht doch um die Handlungsfähigkeit des Staates selbst.
Durch die Übernahme und das Insourcing der Kompetenzen stärken wir gerade das Portfolio und die Handlungsfähigkeit des Staates. Der Digital Service kann als Inhouse-Einheit mit und für den Staat schnell und unkompliziert digitale, nutzerzentrierte Lösungen entwickeln. Die Angestellten des Digital Service werden ausschließlich für und mit der Verwaltung arbeiten. Darüber hinaus ist es auch der Auftrag des Digital Service, durch die gemeinsame Arbeit mit den Verwaltungsmitarbeitenden zum Aufbau von Kompetenzen innerhalb der unmittelbaren Bundesverwaltung beizutragen. Mit einer behördlichen Struktur hätten sich die notwendige Agilität und Flexibilität, besonders mit Blick auf Personalgewinnung und Projektarbeit, nicht in gleicher Weise erreichen lassen.
Warum war es aus Sicht des Kanzleramts notwendig, dass der Digital Service in seiner Personalpolitik flexibel agieren kann?
Flexibilität in der Personalplanung ist entscheidend für den Digital Service. Dabei geht es nicht nur darum, für bestimmte am Markt schwer zu bekommende Profile angemessene Gehälter zahlen zu können. Das ist der kleinere Aspekt. Wichtig ist vielmehr, die bürokratischen Aufwände und Vorläufe zu minimieren, damit die Einheit wirklich das agile „Schnellboot“ sein kann, das sie sein soll und nicht doch zum „Tanker“ wird. Für diese Einheit ist es entscheidend, Personen anzuziehen und aufzubauen, die unabhängig von formalen Abschlüssen IT- und Digital-Kompetenzen mitbringen, die in Berlin und weit darüber hinaus stark gesucht sind. Wenn man weitestgehend auf etwa die Erstellung von vergleichsweise starren jährlichen Stellenplänen verzichten kann, um auch in der Skalierung der Einheit flexibel zu bleiben, hilft das auch, die Verwaltungsstruktur der neuen Einheit schlank zu halten. Der Digital Service wird projekt- bzw. auftragsbasiert arbeiten. Er soll sich sehr schnell wirtschaftlich selbst tragen und nicht dauerhaft durch den Bund finanziert werden. Die GmbH muss „konjunkturabhängig“ am Markt agieren und flexibel Personal anwerben können, und zwar unterjährig und in Abhängigkeit von der Entwicklung der Auftragslage. All dies wird nun für den Digital Service möglich sein.
Was macht das Digital Service Team genau?
Die Mission des DigitalService4Germany ist es, digitale Lösungen mit dem Staat zu entwickeln, die die Bedürfnisse der Bürger:innen in den Mittelpunkt stellen und besser für alle funktionieren. Dazu arbeiten in den Digital Service Teams Designer:innen, Programmier:innen und Produkt Manager:innen nach agilen Entwicklungsmethoden gemeinsam mit Projektverantwortlichen aus der Bundesverwaltung an der Entwicklung von nutzer:innenzentrierten Software Produkten.
Welches werden die ersten Projekte des Digital Service sein?
Die nächsten Monate sind von der Aufbauarbeit für den Digital Service geprägt. Parallel wurden bereits im Vorfeld ein bis zwei konkrete Projekte identifiziert, in deren Begleitung und Umsetzung der Digital Service parallel einsteigen wird. Die Erfahrungen aus diesen ersten Projekten und mögliche Implikationen hinsichtlich der Zusammenarbeit mit der Bundesverwaltung als Partner und Auftraggeber können dann unmittelbar in die weitere Aufbauarbeit einbezogen werden. Sobald das erste Projekt auch förmlich beim Digital Service beauftragt worden ist, werden wir hier darüber informieren.
Wie können sich Ministerien für Projekte bewerben?
Ministerien und Bundesbehörden können den Digital Service mit der Entwicklung von Softwareprodukten beauftragen. Anders als bei den Fellowships findet keine Bewerbung und Auswahl durch eine unabhängige Jury statt. Trotzdem wird es aus Kapazitätsgründen nicht möglich sein, jedes Projekt anzunehmen. Teil der Aufbauphase wird es sein, in Zusammenarbeit mit dem Aufsichtsrat und dem Kanzleramt transparente Auswahlkriterien sowie einen Auswahlprozess zu definieren.
Sind nun die Tech4Germany und Work4GermanyProgramme Teil des Digital Service Teams? Gilt die Rechtsform jetzt für alle?
Ja, Tech4Germany und Work4Germany sind ebenfalls Teil der DigitalService4Germany Bundes GmbH. Diese beiden Fellowship Programme werden neben der beschriebenen ganzjährigen kollaborativen und agilen Entwicklung von Softwareprodukten in bewährter Weise fortgeführt.
Kann das DigitalService4Germany Team als Bundesunternehmen weiterhin unabhängige Entscheidungen treffen?
Operativ trifft das Team unabhängige Entscheidungen. Die Geschäftsführer:innen der GmbH sind satzungsgemäß gegenüber Aufsichtsrat und Gesellschaftern verpflichtet, bestimmte strategische Entscheidungen vorzulegen oder mit diesen abzustimmen. Mehr Informationen enthält die Satzung und die Geschäftsordnung der Geschäftsführung.
Kann der Digital Service Projekte ablehnen?
Der Digital Service wird eigenständig entscheiden, welche Projekte er annimmt. Die Entscheidung erfolgt aufgrund transparenter und nachvollziehbarer Kriterien. Die Kriterien werden zuvor vom Aufsichtsrat gebilligt.
Wie kommt es, dass der Digital Service ein anderes Vergütungsmodell anwenden kann als Bundesbehörden?
Für eine Bundes-GmbH als private Rechtsform in öffentlicher Hand sind die Tarifbestimmungen des öffentlichen Dienstes (TVöD) nicht unmittelbar anwendbar. Jede Beteiligung des Bundes ist nach der Bundeshaushaltsordnung durch das Bundesfinanzministerium zu genehmigen. Diese Genehmigung erfolgte unter der Auflage, dass für einen Teil des Unternehmens, nämlich die Programme und den Querschnittsbereich, das Besserstellungsverbot (normiert für Zuwendungen) entsprechend gilt. Die Produktteams des Digital Service, für die diese Auflage nicht gilt, müssen aber dennoch wirtschaftlich agieren. Sie konkurrieren auf der anderen Seite aber mit privaten Anbietern um Projektaufträge und um Personal. Insofern ist es erforderlich, auch marktübliche Konditionen bieten zu können.
Wird der DigitalService4Germany neue Leute einstellen oder wird die Projektarbeit wie in den Programmen von Fellows umgesetzt?
Der Digital Service wird als neuer eigenständiger Geschäftsbereich bei der GmbH aufgebaut. Die dafür erforderlichen Profile werden als Vollzeitstellen ausgeschrieben und rekrutiert. Der Digitalservice plant bis Ende 2021 auf ca. 50 Stellen anzuwachsen.
Können Fellows direkt in den DigitalService4Germany wechseln?
Nein. Fellows von Work4Germany und Tech4Germany müssen sich über die gleichen Bewerbungsprozesse auf freie Stellen für den Digital Service qualifizieren wie externe Bewerber und Bewerberinnen. So wollen wir für alle Interessierten den gleichen Zugang zu der neuen Einheit sicherstellen.
Wie wird der DigitalService4Germany finanziert?
Die neue GmbH wird mit einem Startkapital in Höhe eines hohen einstelligen Millionenbetrags durch den Bund ausgestattet; anschließend soll sie sich spätestens nach vier Jahren selbst tragen durch die Entgelte, die sie für ihre Softwareprodukte und Dienstleistungen erwirtschaftet. Sie soll dabei projekt- beziehungsweise auftragsbasiert arbeiten und konjunkturabhängig agieren können. Die genaue Höhe des Bundesanteils ist noch Gegenstand der haushaltspolitischen Verhandlungen.
Impressum Datenschutz